Top Five Homecoming/Reunion Activities

16 Oct

This article originally appeared in the September 19 issue of The Archway, Bryant’s student newspaper.

TuppersTidbits-Fall2014_1-compressed

Tailgating with the guys this year…break out the steaks! I’ll take mine medium rare, please….

What a whirlwind these first two weeks of school have been. The ups: Move-In Weekend, coming to campus three days a week, and a strong start for the Bulldogs athletic teams. The downs: Humidity and a pesky sports injury that prevent me from doing stuff.

Homecoming/Reunion, though? That’s one event you couldn’t keep me away from! (I make no promises if you have bacon, though…or my ball…either one of those could probably distract me…temporarily…) I present “Tupper’s Top Five Favorite Homecoming/Reunion Activities”:

  1. SPORTS! Traditionally, Homecoming is about football, and we got that (Congrats to Bulldogs getting that dub over nationally ranked University of Maine!). But we also had Bulldog games in volleyball, field hockey, and soccer, plus alumni games in soccer, softball, lacrosse, and baseball. Did somebody say, “ball?”
  1. TAILGATING! There’s a whole section in the parking lot exclusively for tailgating alumni and parents. I would never be allowed to walk through this section on account of falling food. Everyone offers me food…but mom says no most of the time. We ought to do something about my mom…She’s WAY too strict!
  1. I’M FAMOUS! Everyone wants to take my picture…and that means Momma’s breaking out my ball. I know that if I’m persistent enough (let’s face it, Bulldog = Persistent), I will get my ball.
  1. HOT DOGS! They are meaty goodness…when I take a bite, it’s like tiny angels of deliciousness dancing on my tongue. What’s that, mom? I seem to swallow them whole and you’re not sure how I’m actually tasting them? Trust me, this is how the sophisticated connoisseur eats…

And my number one favorite thing about Homecoming/Reunion:

  1. PEOPLE! Alumni from when Bryant’s mascot was the Indian, alumni who just stepped through the Archway in May, and new and returning students. I am swimming in people, and I dig it! I don’t like water all that much, but I LOVE swimming in people. My favorite lines: “Is this THE famous Tupper?” and “I LOVE his jersey!” Yep. I’m kind of a big deal. You can check out my photo album from Homecoming/Reunion (and tag yourself if you’re in any pics, for Dog’s sake!).

So there you have it. Tupper’s Top Five Favorite Homecoming/Reunion Activities. Don’t forget – I’m on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Vine. Get at me! ’Til next time…WOOF!

Leave a Reply

