Tupper’s Tidbits – Top Five Things to Do Over Winter Break

7 Dec

This piece originally ran in the December 7 issue of The Archway.

You can see the light at the end of the tunnel…at this point, you’re hoping it’s not a train coming at you, but the semester’s almost over! You’re going to go from 100 mph to 0 in about 5 seconds. Do you have any idea what that can do to a person (or dog)?

Winter break is awesome because it’s a loooong holiday vacation for you. You’ll see family and friends, and sleep in your own bed again. You’ll see your pets that you’ve missed, and eat mom’s and grandma’s home cooking. And then, 10 days later, you’ll be wishing you were back at Bryant. Trust me, I know these things…I’m a mascot!

Trust me, I'm a mascot.

Trust me, I’m a mascot.

But you’re going to have five or six whole weeks off! What will you do? I can tell you from my personal knowledge bank that there are things you can do to make your time off even better. “Better,” you say, “how so?” I present to you: Tupper’s Top Five Things to Do Over Winter Break:

Stop staring at me!

Stop staring at me!

5. TAKE NAPS! Did you know that young humans such as yourselves need about 9 hours of sleep each night (www.sleepfoundation.org)? Get on that! You’ve got so much work that you stay up all night and walk around like Monster-swilling zombies! Get your sleep…that’s an order! I know I’m no good unless I get my 22 hours each day! 🙂

4. VISIT YOUR DOGTOR! Health Services does a great job, but they don’t know YOU. Not like your regular dogtor does! My dogtor knows when the slightest thing is off about me. Visit your physician, say “hi,” and have him/her do a wellness check.

3. CHEW A BONE! When I get bored, I get into trouble. My chew toys are what my Momma calls “productive activity” because they help my dental and mental health. You need to make sure that you’re doing something productive during break; otherwise, re-entry in January is going to kill you! Especially you first-years who will be doing the 72-hour Bryant IDEA Program as part of the Gateway Experience…it’ll be so helpful, but each day will wipe you out – stay in practice!

2. HAVE PLAYDATES!  It is awesome to be by yourself sometimes to recharge your batteries, but make sure you’re also connecting with humans – IN PERSON! Socialization is important. It teaches you to be more independent and will make you happier and more satisfied with your life.

And the number one thing you must do over winter break is:

1. STAY IN TOUCH WITH ME! I’m going to be lonely… 😦 Check in with me on my social media accounts. Post pictures of your trips, adventures, and family members! I’ll be thinking about you when you’re gone. Spare a thought to your favorite mascot?

I will just chomp on my WJMF Frisbee until you get back.

I will just chomp on my WJMF Frisbee until you get back.

So there you have it. Tupper’s Top Five Things to Do Over Winter Break. Don’t forget – I’m on Facebook and Twitter. Get at me! ’Til next time…WOOF!

Leave a Reply

