Tupper’s Tidbits – Top Five Reasons For Giving Thanks

18 Nov

This article originally appeared in the November 15, 2012, issue of The Archway.

Less picture-taking, more belly rubbing!

I have been around the block a couple of times now…I know that the third week in November is a special time of year. When it comes to students, they’re most grateful for time off from school. And the rest of you humans are grateful for time off from work … don’t deny it; you know you are!

Well, I don’t have to take mid-terms or write papers or give presentations. Nor do I have deadlines and schedules. When I go to campus, it’s all about strutting my stuff and getting scratches for being so darn adorable. I LOVE IT!

One thing we can all agree on, though, is that we may sometimes take things for granted and this is possibly the one time we all take a moment and think about how lucky we are. With Thanksgiving around the corner, I present “Tupper’s Top Reasons for Giving Thanks”:

Bulldog Buggy!

5. I HAVE A ‘BULLDOG BUGGY’! Hey, let’s keep it real. The campus is 428 acres. That’s a lot of ground to cover. I see you guys moving around campus in your gas-powered buggies. My legs aren’t even 1/8th as long as yours!

4. THANKSGIVING LEFTOVERS! Tradition in the Senecal house: All the scraps left on people’s plates get redistributed into our doggie dishes. OMNOMNOM! Gravy makes me so happy!

Amaze-balls!

3. MY BALL SUPPLY IS RESTOCKED! You can probably count the number of times that you’ve seen me without a ball in my mouth on one hand. Momma calls it my “puppy pacifier.” Special thanks to Bryant’s Alumni Relations Office and the Student Alumni Association for keeping me swimming in balls… 🙂

2. I AM THE BRYANT MASCOT!  I can’t even imagine being a regular dog now! When I hear applause, I assume it’s for me (isn’t it, though?) Our students are the best. They dedicate a lot of time to community service, including about 300 of them recently writing “Thank You” cards to members of our armed forces overseas this holiday season. I love them!

And the number one reason I give thanks:

1. THE PEOPLE WHO LOVE ME! Whether it’s my Momma reading me a bedtime story, students rubbing my belly and high-fiving me, or (my personal favorite) people who show their love by feeding me, I am fortunate to be surrounded by people who love me. I’m not the only one, though. So are you…I guarantee it!

So there you have it. Tupper’s Top Five Reasons for Giving Thanks. Don’t forget – I’m on Facebook and Twitter. Get at me! ’Til next time…WOOF!

Leave a Reply

