Top Five Reasons to Love Trick-Or-Treating

8 Nov

This article originally appeared in the October 25, 2012, issue of The Archway, Bryant’s student newspaper.

Oh boy, oh boy! There are a lot of reasons to love fall…it’s when college starts again, it’s football season, the air gets crisp and cool, and it’s time for Trick-or-Treats!

Fun facts about the holiday*: 1) Nearly 70 percent of Americans will celebrate this year. 2) The average person will spend about $80 on candy, decorations, and costumes. 3) Fifteen percent will dress their dogs up in costumes. I do not support that last fun fact. At all.

Can’t I just be a “high-fiving mascot” for Halloween???

And so, with October 31 just around the corner, I present to you “Tupper’s Top Five Reasons to Love Trick-or-Treat Time”:

5. THERE WILL BE HOT DOGS! What do you mean, there won’t be hot dogs? Isn’t it called “Halloweenie,” and weenie is short for “wiener,” which is a hot dog? No “ie” on the end, you say? Can we start a petition on change.org to get the name changed and set us on the right track to hot dogs?

4. MY TWITTER AND FACEBOOK FRIENDS WILL BE PUTTING THEIR DOGS IN COSTUME! And posting (and re-posting) the pictures! Some of them are pretty funny! Gracie the bulldog in Wisconsin has a Marilyn Monroe costume, complete with cleavage, and Paloma the Boston terrier in Ohio is a Geisha, complete with kimono! Why are you smirking, Momma? Uhhh…I don’t like the look you’re giving me.

This year, I was part of a couples costume…I was a dalmatian, and Momma was a firefighter…BOL!

3. THERE ARE PARTIES TO GO TO! My dogtor’s office, Northpaws Veterinary Center in Greenville, is having a Howl-O-Ween party, and I’m invited! There’s gonna be people, and dogs, and treats! What do you mean, it’s a costume pawty? You mean for you, right Momma?

2. IT’S IN THE TITLE…TREATS!  If I’m a good boy, I get non-stop treats! Kit Kats and peanut butter cups, and Milky Ways…OMNOMNOM!!! Excuse me? What do you mean, “no, those have chocolate?” Isn’t that the most delicious part? That’s what the commercials say! Chocolate is POISON to doggies?? Can we file a petition to get chocolate to be nontoxic?

And my number one favoritest thing about Trick-or-Treat Time:

1. THE TRICK-OR-TREATERS! A non-stop stream of people coming to the front door! I LOVE PEOPLE! And most of them are compelled, by my good looks and charm, to pet me and exclaim about my adorableness. With which I wholeheartedly agree. And support.

So there you have it. Tupper’s Top Five Reasons to Love Trick-or-Treat Time. Don’t forget – I’m on Facebook (www.facebook.com/bulldogtupper) and Twitter (http://twitter.com/bryanttuppy). Get at me! ’Til next time…WOOF!

*According to National Retail Federation® (www.nrf.com)

Leave a Reply

