I mascot in honor of Falco

6 Oct

I met @FalcoTheBullie on Twitter when I first joined. His bio said, “I want to be a mascot when I grow up.” I guess that’s why I felt a special connection to him.

Though he didn’t have the official mascot gig that I have, I found his photos and videos to be inspirational – what a great sense of humor on that bullie!

Last week, I received some very sad news.

Falco died on September 29. It was unexpected and not unexpected at the same time.

You see, the last year of his life, Falco was battling cancer. He had just turned three on August 27.

I mean, bulldogs have a pretty short shelf life, but our humans expect at least eight years. I find that most people who take in bullies are special people in the way they consider us family. I mean, check this out…you know a lot of people who would let us sit at the table like this with the humans?

Please pass the T-Bone this way…the rare one…

A couple of months ago, another one of my friends @BulldogDaddy12 lost his second bullie, Beaudy. It’s hard on the humans when we go. (Special thanks again to David for sending me some of Beaudy’s things!) And far too many of my friends or my friends’ pets have crossed Over the Rainbow Bridge recently, including my cousin, Pitou, who left us July 23. As I write this, I found out Mugsy, my friend @TrooperMoo’s bullie, crossed today.

They are all my friends, and they have all been there for me at different times for support. But Falco didn’t get to be a mascot. I mean, I guess we all have dreams that don’t happen for us… But Falco didn’t even get to grow up. That makes me and Momma very sad.

And so, I dedicate the rest of my mascoting season to Falco, with remembrances to all my friends who have crossed OTRB.

Take a look at some of Falco’s photos and videos below, and I think you’ll see why I found him so inspirational.

Falco, enjoying some of the everyday things life had to offer.

This is one of my fave videos of his…he was campaigning for votes for a bulldog calendar:

And in this collage, you see the many faces of Falco…all of them super-excited. Well, I can tell he’s super-excited…it’s a bulldog thing!

From puppy to welcoming his baby sister, Collins, into the family, Falco was a true gentleman.

Now THIS is a video every human should watch…it’s about “embracing the nap.”

And, so, I think you all have a better idea of the kind of bulldog my friend Falco was. I honor Falco by wearing a black band with his name on it when I’m doing my mascot thing. Rest in peace, dear friend, and I wish you pain-free days while you wait for your family to join you.

12 Responses to “I mascot in honor of Falco”

  1. maggie68d October 7, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Beautiful tribute to Falco, i’ll miss him ,and his stories and outlooks

    • Tuppy October 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      I will, too, Mag-Pie…he was quite a character!

  2. Stella October 7, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    I miss Falco too! So glad he gets to be a mascot through you!

  3. Sharon Isley October 7, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    That was so sweet! Now I know whyI want an EB so much! I still have n 11 yr old kitty, and she would never share the spotlight, but maybe would like a rescue bully some day. Met Falco on twitter…truly crossed over way too soon.

  4. Kelly, Joe and Collins October 7, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    Well said Tupper. Falco was lucky to have a bud like you and WE are lucky to have you to keep his spirit alive and well.

  5. Troopermoo October 8, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your love and friendship with Falco, and my Mugsy. As you said, loving a bully is different than loving other guys, I shared a bed with all 3 of my guys, and girls. Mugsy was home with us and held in my arms when he passed. He was surrounded by love. He was rescued from the streets of Detroit, found starving with horrible skin conditions, and lived his final years in the lap of luxury with us. Moo and Layla were able to see him when his soul left us and it was a good closing.

    • Tuppy October 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Ms. Carrie, Mugsy was so lucky to have found you. I am so happy that there are angels like you out there to help my friends!

  6. bullymonst October 9, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Tuppy – You are one amazing dog with a heart of gold. That was a wonderful tribute to the bullies we have been blessed to call our friends. I am truely honored to be part of such a special group of dog friends. We love you Tuppy, thanks for honoring our friends. RIP Falco and Muggy…you will live on in our hearts. Gracie and mom Heidi

  7. bullymonst October 9, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    * this may be a second message…mom said the 1st didn’t show up.

    Tuppy –

    You are one amazing dog and I am proud to call you “friend”. What a beautiful tribute to our buddy, Falco and the others that made the Rainbow Bridge trip recently.

    Falco will live on in our hearts and memories….that kid sure had a sense of humor. My favorite his campaign video!

    Falco did get his puppyhood dream…he gets to be an honorary mascot through you.

    We are blessed to have our Twitter friends.

    RIP Falco, Mugsy, Beaudy and Pitou

    We love you, Tuppy!

    Gracie and mom Heidi

    • Tuppy October 9, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      Oh thank you so much, Ms. Heidi and Ms. Gracie, for your love and support! I am happy that I can do this for Falco. 🙂

      • @Aint_no_bull October 10, 2012 at 12:57 am #

        Its always sad when our friends leave us. 😦 Thanks for keeping them in our memories, Tupper!!

  8. Greta the WGSD (@Queen_Greta) October 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Thanks for this Tuppy. It’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

