You’re all human to me

7 Mar

Somebody called me “fat” again today.

*Sigh* Sometimes, it feels like nobody understands me!

Once again, I was judged, and found to be lacking – or, in this case, too plentiful.

Sometimes, instead of just calling me fat, people will ask Momma if I’m overweight. And at least 25 percent of those don’t believe her when she says that I’m well within my healthy weight range. You can’t really say a healthy bulldog should weigh 50 pounds in the same way you can’t say a healthy human should weigh 150 pounds. A whole lotta things factor in – height, build, etc.

Here’s what some people don’t know: According to the Bulldog Club of America, bulldogs are bred to have a “massive, short-faced head,” a “heavy, thick-set, low-swung body,” a “very short” face and muzzle and a “massive” and “undershot” jaw.

Sound like anyone you know?

In the end, we don't really know why anybody does anything unless we ask them...

But I don’t get insulted when you call me names…especially as long as you’re scratching me! Maybe my Momma does, because she does so much to take care of me – I’m allergic to wheat, soy, barley, alfalfa, kelp, salmon, and peas, among other things. And those are just my food allergies! So the Mommas home cook my food for me. And they wash my face, paws, and tail every day. Allergies are a common affliction among bulldogs.

You think I’m lazy?

Momma carries me up and down stairs a lot. That’s because as a bulldog is growing, we can easily damage our joints and tendons because of the dense weight we put on our limbs. She probably doesn’t need to carry me anymore cuz I’m two, but she likes the workout!

She also recently found out that my paws were so inflamed because of my allergies that it’s painful for me to walk on them. So now I get Epsom salt foot soaks…just like Madge gives in the old Palmolive commercials!

You may have noticed that sometimes, I get pushed around in a stroller. Well, I’m not an exercise enthusiast, for the above reasons. Also I can overheat quite easily. Anything warmer than 60 degrees is really too warm for me to be engaging in any exercise at all.

I'm still so fly that I get all the girls!

I don’t expect you to know all this stuff, unless you have or have had bulldogs. That’s why I’m telling you… “engaging in dialogue,” and “actively seeking understanding across lines of difference” are part of pluralism, which is one step beyond diversity.

My “a-ha” moment was when I saw that Bryant is sponsoring the Sixth Annual “What is Pluralism?” Contest. That’s when I realized, “hmm…how would anyone KNOW why I do what I do unless I discuss it with them?” It’s so much better when we all participate and share our views, thoughts, and actions.

I encourage you to enter the contest if you are a member of the Bryant community. Don’t wait, do it now. All you have to do now is fill out a sheet of paper – they extended the deadline. If you can’t enter, you should still go to the contest on March 28 and see the entries. You will be moved.

5 Responses to “You’re all human to me”

  1. Melly March 7, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Awwww, Tuppy. I’m sorry people don’t get you. You are pretty awesome and the Mommys take such great care of you. It’s good that you’re opening people’s eyes about your issues so next time, they can scratch your back even more to make you feel better! I know I will 😉 Can’t wait to see you again. I miss you!

    Melly (your favorite French girl!)

    • Tuppy March 7, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      I miss you, too, Melly! Good call on that extra scratching! 🙂

  2. julorote March 9, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    Tuppy-
    I’m MAD that people don’t think before they speak! How would a HUMAN like it if someone asked if THEY are over weight? I think we know the answer to that! People ask me all the time if Izzy is over weight too and no, she’s not- her Vet says she’s the perfect weight for her structure. I think everyone is just jealous that bulldogs are so incredibly cute that they have to try and find fault somehow.

    This post was great- very informative and hopefully will others to think a little about things that they may not know so much about.

    • Tuppy March 9, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      Oh, Jules, you’re the fierce Mama Bear! I think as more people start talking about a bulldog’s special distinctions, more people will understand that we’re not built like labs or retrievers, and that’s okay! We all have our place in this world. That’s why I wanted to open a dialogue about it. Lots of PEOPLE go through being judged because of a variety of factors – race, religion, sexuality, height, weight, etc. That’s not fair, either! Can’t we all just get along? 🙂

      • julorote March 9, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

        EXACTLY- can’t we all just get along!? Dialogue is a great thing! I try to do my best to inform others of Izzy’s stature when asked about her size and weight. Good work, Tuppy! Have a great weekend! Juli

Leave a Reply

