Tupper’s Tidbits: Where have you been?

6 Feb

This piece originally appeared in Bryant University’s student newspaper, The Archway, on February 3, 2012.

Welcome back, Bryant students! I cannot tell you how happy I am that winter break is finally over. I’m going to break my usual format of “Top 5” to lay it all out for you.

You guys have NO idea how much I miss you when you’re gone. See, the thing is, you go home to your family and your dogs, cats, guinea pigs, etc., and bask in their love and adoration. What you may fail to realize is that there is a severe shortage of available scratchers on campus to shower ME with love and adoration.

Thank Dog you're back! I've been so bored!

So here’s what I propose: Take Bryant winter session and summer session classes. Seriously. It’s a win-win. You don’t have to spend ALL THAT TIME with your family, who – let’s face it, I’ve seen your tweets – drive you crazy after a couple of weeks, and I get my belly scratched. Oh, and you get a class or two out of the way so that you don’t have to take five classes in the regular semester. I know how tough some of those classes are. Momma T STILL complains about the demands of some of her MBA classes! And one fewer class frees you up for more Tupper Time.

Problem: Solved. I’m like that. I’m a dog of the people!

Or, if you have to be away from me for all that time, you should study abroad, and gain a global perspective. I know what you’re thinking: Tup, how does that help you? (Because I know you’re always thinking about me.) It’s simple. You will take a mini-Tupper with you around the world and post pictures of him at all the cool places you go. Tupper will be a global mascot. My legacy will be immense. It will be legen – wait for it – dary!

Speaking of legendary, I had a pawsum time at my 2nd birthday party this week. There was singing, and scratching. Trivia, and scratching. Cake, and scratching. Photos with Bryant people, and scratching.

Hey! You said this would be filet mignon!

You may have noticed a recurring theme. It’s a dog thing. Definitely a bulldog thing. If you’re new to Bryant, there are a few things you should know. 1) I’m quieter in person than I am on social media, 2) I’m on social media, so follow me on Twitter (http://twitter.com/BryantTuppy) and like me on Facebook (www.facebook.com/BulldogTupper) and 3) Sometimes, it may look like I’m walking past you, but it’s only to position my bum closer to your scratchers…so get to it!

I’ll be here all semester…try the chicken. I’ll be back to my “Top 5” format for the next issue. ’Til then…WOOF!

Leave a Reply

